ADD & Autism · Adulting · Mental Health · Organising · Planning · Planning for the Easily Distracted

Planning for the Easily Distracted: 2. Daily Routine

Back to school background

Last week we talked about the three ground rules of planning:

1. This is YOUR system
2. Don’t force yourself into a system
3. Every day is a new day

Today, we’re talking about your daily routine. In the last post, I asked you to write down your routine every day for a week. Preferably your natural routine, but just the one you’re using right now works too.

For me, this week, that consisted of waking up at 10 to 7 each morning and going to bed between 9 and 11, I even went to bed at 8 on Wednesday because I was exhausted. Which wasn’t odd, I’ve been working really hard, and that just means mental exhaustion some days.

So, why did I ask to do this? Well, for two reasons, basically rule 1 and 2 are those reasons. This is our own system, this means that we need to figure out what works for us, this also means that we need to find what to base that system on. The first part of that is finding what our hours are.

I’m at my best between midnight and noon. I know, not the easiest to work with, really. But it’s doable. In two ways.

The first is to base a large portion of my life in the evenings. This is what I did when I was away for university. I slept from 6 in the morning to around noon, sometimes a little earlier, and then after my afternoon classes, I’d go back to bed for a few hours to get up to around 8 hours of sleep a day. When I had morning classes, I tried to go to bed earlier (usually just 1 day a week, luckily) and sleep a little more in the afternoon later on.

These days, since my boyfriend has a normal 9-5 job, I use the other half of my productive hours, the morning. I usually go to bed at half past 9 and wake up again at 6 (I don’t go to sleep immediately, I read for about 20-30 minutes). When I wake up, my brain starts working immediately, so my work day starts at 7. This means I get about 5 hours of work done before noon.

I know that I don’t get a lot of things done early in the afternoon, that’s just not going to happen, I crash around that time, no matter how hard I try (and yes, I try often, even though I know… I’ll hopefully learn at some point).

So, what does your day look like? Do you go to bed early? Do you wake up early? Also, how flexible are you? Can you sleep early and wake early? Can you work late and then wake up later in the day?

For example, with the routine I have now, my alarm wakes me at 6 or 7 during the week, but on the weekend I’m still out of bed by 8. For now, this is my “normal” routine. What is yours? Don’t make excuses, don’t feel like you need to validate things. What is *your* normal rhythm? Even if it’s 26 hour days, or 22 hour days. Even if it’s sleeping 4 hours at night and 4 hours during the day. How do you work?

​Task for this week: What are your responsibilities?

From cooking to doing the dishes and work and classes you attend at school or college. And even sports or games that expect you to be somewhere at some time. What are the elements that your schedule exists of and that you need to include in your daily and weekly plan?

Also, try to track another week of your daily routine, so you get a bigger sample to work with later.

Next week we’ll talk about your responsibilities and what those mean for our schedule.

Have a great week!

Love,

Rosa

Leave a Reply

