Author Life · Bullet Journal · Holidailies · Planning · Weeklies

Holidalies 21: Writing Layouts in my Bullet Journal

I posted about my author planner yesterday, but that is only half of my work process. The other half are layouts or spreads in my daily Bullet Journal. So, this is a post about those pages that let me get work done on a day-to-day base.

In my bujo I use two different places where I track my writing and my progress, one of them I’ve been using for a long time, the other not as long.

Monthly page(s)

wp_20160730_00_26_42_prowp_20160511_11_17_00_pro

The above are my monthly writing pages in my bujo, the first one is a very recent spread and the second one is a finished page from a couple of months back.

In the first image, on the left side is a spread where I’ll write the final word count for each day into the square and if I hit a milestone (write, 2, 4, 6, etc. in thousand words) I put a smaller sticker on one of the squares there or I’ll tick it off. This is just to keep me going each month and to keep trying to write more (this doesn’t always work for me, but it does work regularly). It’s something I’ve only added recently, as I feel it can sometimes gives me some courage to keep going and not to give up.

The right side is also the spread at the bottom, but still empty. I actually took out the third column in the top picture, it used to be one broad column and two smaller ones, but I changed that to one broad and one small, as I barely used the third column anymore. What this page is for is my writing sprints.

I get most of my work done by writing in sprints, so I’ll set a timer for 20 minutes, and only focus on writing for those 20 minutes, nothing else. I’m easily distracted, so seeing the counter as I look up, I know that I can do something else in X amount of time. This really helped me to actually write and not get distracted every 2 seconds. I then take a 5-10 minute break before I start another sprint. Well, you can see how it works in the second picture. The third column was originally to write down how many words I’d written in a certain sprint, but I use an excel sheet for that these days, this page is just for me so I don’t have to keep using that excel sheet and it can just be me and my writing. The fewer distractions the better.

Weekly pages

wp_20160528_23_38_58_prowp_20160627_11_10_28_pro

Another two page spread, left side is my writing and planning and right side is my time management.

The left side has two boxes, a project block and a sprintΒ tracker (and the top image also has a small general planner box).

These are quite handy to work with, each writing box consists of a few elements:

  • Day (also sometimes Date)
  • Project (I usually use the project code here, as I talked about in my previous post)
  • Start
  • Add
  • End
  • Goal
  • Promo

The Start and End columns are pretty self-explanatory, these are the start and end word counts for the project. The Add column is for how many words I’ve written on it in that month. Then there is the Goal column, where I write down how many words I want to write on each day. This is usually only done Mon-Fri so I leave the Sat and Sun boxes empty. The Promo box is to keep track of when I do promotions for my books, which is kinda important but that I don’t actually enjoy doing much. Having it stare at me on this page usually reminds me that I still need to take care of it.

The Sprints block gets a square coloured for each sprint that I do. On average I write about 500 words per sprint, so all squares would get me about 5500 words in a day, which is a lot. I can do it, reach there, but I don’t often.

The right side is for tracking my time. I start my day at 6 and go to bed around 9-9.30, so my day doesn’t need to be longer than that. If you look closely you can see that each weekday is split into two sections. The first half is used for pre-planning my day, so I colour time slots in the colour according to a colour scheme (purple = write, red = work, green = edit and blue = self-improvement), and the second half is what I actually spend on each task. I like to split types of tasks up, not just to keep track but also because I may otherwise try to spend all my day doing promotions or other work related things but not get any writing or editing done.

Actually, I did find a picture of a weekly that is partially filled out.

WP_20160503_20_10_40_Pro.jpg

I love both these monthlies and weeklies, they’re pretty important to my work. I know that if I move to a new planner, I’ll have to come up with ways to incorporate this into those planners too. Some things are quite easy (like a time management thing) but other things are rather tricky (like the sprinting page).

So, did you learn something new from this? Find something to help you improve your own process that you may not have thought of before?

Love,

Rosa

 

One thought on “Holidalies 21: Writing Layouts in my Bullet Journal

Leave a Reply

