Food · Food Friday · Recipe

Food Friday: Overnight Oatmeal Recipe

This is a recipe that I regularly reference when I talk about what I eat in a day and my food process. Every morning I wake up, open the fridge, tip my jar of overnight oatmeal into a b0wl, add some fruit and other toppings, put it in the microwave and after a couple of minutes, my breakfast is done. Nice, easy, quick. And today I’m sharing the recipe with you.

 

The food

According to my mum, I’ve always loved porridge and oatmeal. I do have some early memories of me eating a big bowl of Brinta (Dutch brand of porridge and oatmeal) with butter or cinnamon. And even later, as I got older, I regularly would try different styles of oatmeal for breakfast. I started eating oatmeal basically every morning earlier this year, combining it with fruits for a sweet and filling breakfast. I loved it. Nice and warm and I immediately got some of my fruits in in the morning without much of a fuss. Originally I used Quaker’s Oat Express in the flavour Golden Syrup, which is definitely really nice and if you want hassle free but still add things to your breakfast, this is probably the second best option.

But, as my eating habits changed, I wanted something different, something not as processed and something a bit more substantial. That is when I found out about overnight oatmeal. I’d never heard of it, but after looking at some recipes, and doing some food maths, I picked up a bag of rolled oats, played with some measurements and made my first overnight oatmeal.

wp_20160724_09_33_04_pro
My first overnight oatmeal

Not that big of a success. I realised that 1, I didn’t use enough liquids, 2, eating from a jar is annoying and 3, glass jars filled with hot substances are hot… But the idea wasn’t a bad one, I just had to improve it to make it work for me. And the recipe I made for the second day is the same recipe I use a couple months later. So, after this introduction, let’s get to it.

First, I’ll show you the recipe, step by step with pictures and everything and at the bottom of the post will be the full recipe (or click here to immediately jump there). After the step by step, I’ll also post some recipe variations. This recipe is in two parts, the first part is for the day/night before and the second part is for the morning when you’ll actually have breakfast.

 

The night before

I can do this part of the recipe in about a minute or two. Everything is always within easy reach and I just grab whatever I want. While the recipe is called “overnight” oatmeal, I often make this in the morning right after I’ve done the dishes.

wp_20160918_20_38_50_pro
Tools and ingredients

Your dry ingredients are the rolled oats and the raisins and the wet ingredients are milk and water (water not pictured).

wp_20160918_20_39_28_pro

Half a cup of rolled oats, and in the jar it goes.

15 Grams of raisins, also in the jar.

Half a cup of milk, add it to the dry ingredients.

Almost half a cup of water, also added to the jar

wp_20160918_20_43_19_pro
Finished jar

And the jar goes into the fridge. At this point, I usually shake it for a bit to mix everything up well, and then let it be until I need it in the morning.

 

In the morning

In the morning, you take the jar from the fridge and grab all your other things you need, like toppings.

wp_20160919_04_58_14_pro

In this case, I used pepernoten (a Dutch cookie-like confectionary that is traditionally only sold from August until early December and is associated with our Sinterklaas or Saint Nicholas celebrations on December the 5th) and sesame seeds as toppings.

wp_20160919_04_59_21_pro

First, pour the contents of the jar into a big enough bowl (you will boil it later, so don’t take too small a bowl or it’ll come over the sides).

wp_20160919_05_00_02_pro

Add one teaspoon of sesame seeds, I just love them, so I always add them.

Measure out your other toppings, in this case, the pepernoten, and add those also to the bowl.

wp_20160919_05_03_06_pro

Pop into the microwave for it to cook. I use 4:30 minutes at 800 Watt, this boils it and by boiling the oats soften more. I use the plate not only to measure out ingredients, but I also use it in the microwave to put it under the bowl. This way I won’t have to touch the hot bowl when I take it out, and if stuff goes over the edge (as still happens sometimes when I experiment with ingredients), it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the microwave. Win win.

wp_20160919_05_08_01_pro

The oatmeal right as it comes out of the microwave, this looks pretty decently.

wp_20160919_05_08_52_pro

After a good stir. This is why I prefer taking pictures of the before-microwave look of the bowl, not the after-microwave look…

Enjoy!

 

Variations

These are some of the variations I’ve tried that I really enjoyed.

This is with 100 grams of frozen summer fruits (they’re much easier to store when frozen, so you can buy in bulk and because they have to defrost, they go easily together in the microwave.

wp_20160901_09_17_37_pro

It doesn’t look as appetizing in the picture, but this is with 20 grams of chocolate. I keep the recipe exactly the same with the raisins and the sesame seeds, but I only add the chocolate pieces after the bowl has been in the microwave. I think it tastes a bit like goopy coco pops, I love it though! And you can totally try out all sorts of different types of chocolate.

This morning I made oatmeal with banana. Which was quite the success and tasted really nicely. Plus, I’m a sucker for cinnamon and five spice.

Other fruit options are possible too, like peaches (left) or strawberries (right). You can use whatever you fancy. I’ve tried other things, but don’t have pictures of them, so no luck there.

And that’s it! I’m hoping the next thing works, but WordPress should have a fancy option to make a recipe card that you can print and everything. Handy right?

Overnight Oatmeal

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

A quick and filling breakfast in two parts that makes sure you start the day off well


tools/utensils/stuff

  • a jar (glass is a good idea, it needs to be able to be closed shut)
  • scales
  • measuring spoons and cups (optional)
  • microwave safe bowl
  • microwave safe plate
  • spoon (for eating and also stirring)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 a cup (about 50 grams) of rolled oats
  • 15 grams of raisins
  • 1/2 cup (125 ml) of semi-skimmed milk
  • almost 1/2 cup (90-100 ml) of water
  • 1 tsp (3.5 grams) of sesame seeds
  • topping of your choice

Directions

  1. In the jar, add the rolled oats, raisins, milk and water. Let it stand overnight.
  2. Tip the oatmeal from the jar into a bowl, add the sesame seeds and your toppings. Microwave for 4.5 minutes at 800 Watt. Mix and serve.

Some variations

    Try this recipe out with some of the following for some great flavours:
  • 100 grams of frozen summer fruits
  • 100 grams of frozen or fresh strawberries
  • a tablespoon of peanut butter or other nut butter
  • 20 grams of chocolate
  • a banana and some cinnamon and five spice
  • half an apple with cinnamon and five spice

2 thoughts on “Food Friday: Overnight Oatmeal Recipe

Leave a Reply

