Adulting · Author Life · Bullet Journal · Planning · Weeklies

Bullet Journal Weekly Planning week 39

So, before I go to bed tonight (it’s 8.30 pm here right now) I wanted to share how I make my weekly planner in my bullet journal and how this incorporates my life as an author. It’s going to be quite a lot of pictures, but that’s what sharing weeklies is all about.

 

The setup

Step 1: collect tools.

I often choose the colour of the pens to match the washi tape I use for the week.

img_0072

Step 2: find right page

I had to skip a couple of pages as I have to add the monthlies for October before this one. I like to start the first of the month after the monthlies of that actual month. October kind of took me by surprise, so that’s why the above pic is a different place from below.

img_0074

Step 3: make time manager

This is the outline of my time management block, I kind of made an error on the right side, the 3 square block was supposed to go between the two 2 square blocks. Whoops.

img_0076

Step 4: fill out details

This is probably as far as most people will follow me, as this is the “normal” time management part of my weeklies. Explanations of what it actually does below.

img_0078

Step 5: add writing block

This block is specifically for my writing. Here I track my writing I’ve done and writing I planned to do.

img_0080

Step 6: details

Filled out my time planning at the top of the week and my goal in the bottom box and, of course, added my washi of the week.

img_0091

 

The explanation

Mu weeklies exist of two different parts that work together. The top half is my time management part and the bottom half is my writing schedule part.

Time management

Every weekday is signified with both the day of the week and the date, this makes looking back later to check something a lot easier. I originally only put the date range at the top, but I soon realised that if I wanted to find something back on a specific date, this wasn’t good enough. So I now use both day and date to lessen confusion.

The time management block is very important for me as I’m an author and I publish my own books. This means that I have my own company and that means I have to keep track of the hours I work. This block does three things for me then; it keeps track of my hours for tax purposes, it keeps track of my hours for personal reasons and it gives me a work schedule to stick to.

At the moment the first row of each weekday is filled, this is the planning for the week. I’m back deep into writing this week (after being all over other publishing related tasks for the last couple of weeks), as is signified by the yellow colour.

My days basically look like this:

6 am: get out of bed
7 – 8.30 am: do self-improvement (I’m probably gonna read some non-fiction this week)
9 am – 12 pm: work (or write)
12 pm: lunch
1 – 5 pm: write at library
5 – 9.30 pm: dinner and relaxation time
9.30 pm: get into bed (I usually read some fiction for an hour or so)

The second row will be filled out at the end of the day. I keep track of my time blocks in my dailies, but this keeps everything neatly together. The final square at the end of each day holds the hours I worked that day.

Writing schedule

Each day of the week has a nice row with six sections. The first is the project I’m working on that day, the second one is the starting word count for that day, the third column is how many words I added (which I also track on a file on my computer), the fourth column is the end word count of the project, the fifth column is the word count goal for the day and the final column is a set of spaces where I can tick off every writing sprint I do.

There is some redundancy in this, but that’s all with a purpose. The first redundancy is that I have both a “words added” and an “end word count” section. This is because I don’t always work on the same projects in a single week. So if I switch projects and then forget to write down the starting word count the next time, I still have the ending word count from the previous time I worked on the project.

I also track the number of sprints here on the page, while I track my actual writing sprints on a monthly page. Writing sprints is when I set a timer for 20 minutes and only writing during those 20 minutes. I’m not allowed to go on social media, I’m not allowed to do anything but focus. I’ve got a very short attention span, so knowing that I’m allowed to check social media or do something else in X number of minutes really helps me focus. I colour in the squares here because I like the short term reward of crossing it off instead of just the long term reward of having a finished manuscript.

There are both planning spaces and writing spaces for the weekend, but I haven’t filled them out. This is because I don’t plan for the weekend, but sometimes things just happen like that… And I’ll still need to track them.

 

What do you think? Do you have a way to track your work schedule? Do you have planner pages that are dedicated to your particular job? Share them below!

Love,

Rosa

3 thoughts on “Bullet Journal Weekly Planning week 39

  1. I LOVE this! I’ve literally been searching *cough*procrastinating*cough* for this exact type of example, after trying multiple times to figure out a way to bullet journal and track my writing!! Thank you! (also I’m now super tempted to scrap my afternoon writing session to obsessively study this…)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Glad to be of help!
      There isn’t much to study about it, really. I’ll hopefully be writing a post with how my weeklies have evolved over the last year, which will show different versions of this same layout.

      Like

Leave a Reply

